Robin Hobb, Fool’s Quest (2015)


It’s just a few months to the release of the final installment in Fitz and the Fool trilogy. And so it’s high time to review the middle book, Fool’s Quest. I must admit I’ve been putting off the moment of reading this book for a while now – and it was a planned and conscious decision. I didn’t want to wait too long for the grand finale, because I expected Fool’s Quest to be the perfect second installment, the Empire Strikes Back of Realm of Elderlings: harrowing, dark, full of sadness and anger and desperation… In short – the perfect foundation for the grand, all-encompassing conclusion to the long and extremely rich series of Realm of Elderlings – not only the three trilogies of Fitz and Fool, but also the Liveship trilogy and the Rainwild Chronicles.

And I was not disappointed.

Continue reading

On lists or lack thereof

Making lists is one of the favorite pastimes around the web – and probably not only there. Lists of best books in any given year or month, lists of worst zombie movies ever, etc… It’s as if structuring and prioritizing one’s experience or even group preferences became the best source of available information. Show me your list and I’ll tell you who you really are.

We’ve been mentioning our own lists on the blog at least several times already – the TBR lists, mainly. The problem is, my personal lists are few and far between, and they are not even proper lists with any discernible hierarchy. I have rather sets of items, where each item holds more or less similar position to any other. And even of those I have only two worth mentioning: TBR and TBB.

Continue reading

Robin Hobb, Fool’s Assassin: Book One of the Fitz and Fool Trilogy (2014)

Fool's AssassinIt was to be expected; more, it was inevitable. After reviewing the two previous multi-novel sequences focused on FitzChivalry and Fool characters, the Farseer Trilogy and the Tawny Man Trilogy, there had to come a review of the newest works by Robin Hobb – the first installment in the Fitz and Fool Trilogy. From the muddy sentence above it would appear that Hobb writes nothing but trilogies; not true. She did write a tetralogy once – the Rain Wilds Chronicles :P. Continue reading

Robin Hobb, Tawny Man Trilogy (2001–2003)

Tawny_Man_TrilogyThe Tawny Man Trilogy is the second trilogy set in the realm of Six Duches. It starts 15 years after the events depicted in the Farseer Trilogy and approximately at the same time as the Liveship Traders Trilogy. Here we finally meet Fitz the narrator of the first three books – the man who in the course of events described in the Farseer Trilogy has not only matured, but has become tired of life and deeply disillusioned. Almost broken, more than once, Fitz has gotten old beyond his years, and now lives in equal measures of constant pain and promise of bliss, both caused by his addiction to Skill.

A rosy beginning, is it not? Living incognito in a small village, as far from court politics as possible, Fitz pretends to be someone else than a royal bastard turned assassin turned mage. He assumes the name of Tom Badgerlock, he even adopts an orphaned boy named Hap, and he tries his best in farmland and parenting. Needless to say that in both he fails rather miserably, to the reader’s constant glee. The only thing he excels at is writing his story, as we know from previous books – but even this is not what he exactly wanted to do, as he planned to write a history of Six Duches instead of describing his personal endeavors. But the old wounds won’t heal, old memories won’t let him rest, and thanks to them instead of the boring, dry chronicles we have been given the emotionally wringing, touching and unforgettable Farseer Trilogy.

Continue reading

Robin Hobb, Farseer Trilogy (1995–1997)

Farseer-TrilogyI remember seeing these books for the first time – way back in 90’s. The covers were in typical American style, informative but rather ugly (which is why they are not shown here at all 😉 – check this entry if you want a taste). What drew my attention to them was the name – Robin smacked of Sherwood and outlaws and all things Medieval. Yay! 😉 But those were the times when I still chose books based on their cover, so the Farseer Trilogy had to wait for its turn to be read for another decade.

When I’ve finally started reading Assassin’s Apprentice I couldn’t stop. I devoured the next two books and went looking for more. Fitz and Fool quickly found their place among my favorite characters. And they’re still there.

Continue reading

Don’t judge a book by its cover…

… czyli pozory mogą mylić. Mogą, ale nie muszą. Myślę, że nie wywołam wielkich kontrowersji stwierdzeniem, że okładka książki jest jej niezwykle istotnym elementem dla każdego czytelnika (papierowej wersji). W idealnym świecie okładka powinna choćby w minimalnym stopniu odzwierciedlać zawartość – informować odbiorcę o tym, czego może się spodziewać, sięgając po daną publikację. I bynajmniej nie mówię tu o precyzyjnym rysowaniu zawartości na okładce każdej książki, a raczej o kreowaniu pewnego nastroju, klimatu odpowiadającego treści. Sztandarowym przykładem błędu twórcy sztuki okładkowej jest czworo oczu Dwukwiata na okładce „Koloru magii” autorstwa Jacka Kirby’ego, dobrze znanego wszystkim fanom komiksów [1].


A zarazem jego okładki, pełne nasyconych barw, humoru i drobiazgowo nakreślonych, szalonych postaci, dla wielu stanowią idealne odzwierciedlenie charakteru Świata Dysku. Po śmierci Kirby’ego zaszczyt projektowania okładek dla Terry’ego Pratchetta przypadł Paulowi Kidby’emu (podobieństwo nazwisk raczej przypadkowe, choć z Pratchettem nigdy nie wiadomo ;)). Kidby zachował większość palety Kirby’ego, podziela też jego zamiłowanie do szczegółu – a zarazem tworzy zupełnie odmienne, autorskie dzieła.


Continue reading